Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-19-2009, 11:24 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Lenses for Samsung GX-1L (a.k.a Pentax ist dl2)

Hi, everyone! I'm glad I found out about this forum... I am a newbie to the DSLR arena and so I got a Samsung GX-1L just for starters at Ebay. It comes with a Pentax DA 18-55mm lens. As I would want to dab into telephoto, what bargain (cheap, i.e., just to learn the ropes) but good telephoto lens could I get? Will the Pentax DA 50-200mm suffice? I have seen a bargain for a Sears 60-300mm lens for PK /KA mounts. Will this work with my samsumg? I hope somebody could help me out... Cheers all!

07-20-2009, 12:48 AM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
G'day and welcome to the forum.
Unfortunately, you get what you pay for in lens quality.
Image quality improves dramatically once you step up from the budget consumer level of lenses, although the DA 55-300 has been acclaimed as a very decent consumer lens, which I can vouch for. I've not tried the 55-200 but wouldn't be keen to get one to try out myself.

Have a look at the forum's lens review database for more specific info on each lens you may be interested in.
07-20-2009, 01:44 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Thanks, Ash. Do you have any specific lens recommendation?
07-20-2009, 02:18 AM   #4
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
I bought the Tamron 70-300 LD Di Macro.

I has plenty of reported faults but I think plenty going for it when used carefully.

The AF can be slow and you do get fringing in high contrast areas but nothing that stops me using the lens.

Here are a couply of vastly different shots taken with it

Sigma offer a pair of lenses that are roughly comparable in optical quality and price but in the end and after much head scratching I plumped for the Tamron and have not regretted it.