Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-24-2009, 01:11 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
SLR > DSLR focal length conversion?

I'm new to the DSLR world (just got a K2000 about a month ago), but am pretty familiar with film SLRs and lens terminology. However, I'm a bit confused over the film-to-digital focal length conversion thing.

I mean, I understand that on a film camera (like my ancient ME SE), the focal length is accurate based on or in relation to a 35 mm film negative. Since the size of the ccd/sensor in a DSLR is not the same size as a 35 mm film negative, the "effective" focal length changes. So, if I take the 50 mm lens off of the old ME and put it on the K2000, the effective focal length increases, right? I can't seem to find a table or calculator to determine what the focal length would be, but I've seen some people suggest that that 50 mm film lens would equate to 75 mm on the K2000.

So, doing some fiddling around with the 50-200 mm lens that came with my new camera, I took a few shots at the 50 mm setting. I then swapped on the 50 mm/1.7 lens from my ME and took a few shots of the same subject, thinking that the subject would be slightly enlarged (since a photo taken at 75 mm would be "closer up" than one taken at 50 mm). To my surprise, the images were nearly identical in relative size. The 50/1.7 image was brighter, crisper, and seemed to have better contrast, but the size of the subject in the photo was almost exactly the same between the two lenses.

So, my test wasn't exactly scientific, but the results seem to suggest that the effective focal length doesn't change. Or, do the manufacturers take this conversion into account when designating the lenses? That is, would the 50-200 mm DSLR lens decrease in effective focal length if I put it on a film camera?

07-24-2009, 01:14 PM   #2
Forum Member