Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-29-2009, 10:28 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Lenses

Hello All... I was wondering if someone would be able to help me. I have a Pentax k1000. I am looking for a large zoom and I came across a Pentax A 80-200 f4.7-5.
for a good price. Would this lense fit onto my k1000? And if not, what should I be looking for? Thank you everyone. I am still learning, however i love it!

07-29-2009, 11:20 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
It fits, but of course it is not an autofocu lens. The standard budget autofocus telephoto zooms choices are the DA50-200, DA55-300, and the Tamron 70-300 and Sigma 70-300. If you browse/search this forum you'll find quite a few existing discussions of these lenses and the tradeoffs betwene them. mostly coming down to, the 55-300 is the best, and that's hy it costs a bit more.
07-30-2009, 12:12 AM   #3
axl
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
@Marc:
OP wrote - I have Pentax k1000 ....
I think that renders all AF lenses MF only, or no?

@OP:
any K mount lens will fit on K1000, but if I'm right that body doesn't support A mode. That means you'll have to use the the apreture ring on the lens. so even M lens would do for you. But if you can get A one, why not. At least it'll be more usable on newer bodies.

BR
Peter
07-30-2009, 06:30 AM   #4
Pentaxian

the lens youo have found will work on the K1000, it is hard to get a good idea on price, but you can check on E-Bay, or in the market place, etc to see the typical asking price.

You may also want to consider one of the vivitar Series 1, 70-210mm Zooms, typically they can be had for a very low price and are very good.

07-30-2009, 10:14 AM   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by axl Quote
@Marc:
OP wrote - I have Pentax k1000 ....
I think that renders all AF lenses MF only, or no?
Doh! It was late; I read that last "0" as a "D".

QuoteQuote: