Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-11-2007, 07:07 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Help me with my DOF (Depth of Frustration)

Not sure this a lens post or general, but as it Lens related (and mostly user error) I fiigured here was best.

So what are the tips and tricks to get everything in the view finder in focus ?. I am new at this, and was not an issue with PS. I love some of the narrow DOF shots I have but every once in a while a want everything in focus in a picture and currently I cannot consistently get that shot in one take or even two.

I understand higher f/stop number cause larger DOF, but I was wondering in general are there tips? Suppose I have 10 objects lined up in front of me about 3 fee away or perhaps a landscape scene with objects as close as 5 feet and as far away as many kilometers ?.

I will of course experiment as practice is everything, and I can usually get the shot, but never the fist time (well almost never) Are there some 'rules of thumb' I can follow? Tips and tricks of the trade or is it something I just need to continue to practice on to get better at ?

05-11-2007, 07:17 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I don't know about others, but I just snap on a lens where it's into infinity focus at a very short distance and step back a few feet
I'm not saying that it's the right thing to do, but it works for me
05-11-2007, 07:27 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Go wide, go closed, go far.

The shorter the focal length the more DoF

The more closed down your aperture, the more your D0F

The further away from something you are the more DoF you have.
05-11-2007, 07:47 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Some rot's

QuoteOriginally posted by daacon Quote
Not sure this a lens post or general, but as it Lens related (and mostly user error) I fiigured here was best.