Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-03-2009, 03:44 PM   #1
Inactive Account

a macro lens?

It seems like i could need a macro lens, so what shall i try to find?
A new AF from Pentax, from an independent maker (sigma / tamron / voigtlšnder), some old Asahi Takumar or what?
Great color rendetion,
also working in B/W,
great contrast,
sharp,
bokeh,
is there any macro lens that works great for portraits (w/o showing every blemish on skin)
What should i try to find or am i just asking for too much?
Going down to 1/1 would be fabolous w/o going too close, maybe something in 75-100mm range?

Ps, i have no experience in macro lenses, just close-focusing lenses like Nikkor Ai-s 28/2.8 and Leica 50DR and similar.

08-03-2009, 03:53 PM   #2
Damn Brit

What do you want to take macros of? If you want to do flowers, 35mm or 50mm would be good. If you want to do insects, 70mm or above, most go for 100mm.

70 or above macros are often great for portraits. They won't show every blemish any more than other portrait lens. Unless you take the portrait from about six inches away. But then it wouldn't be a portrait then, it would be a macro.
08-03-2009, 04:17 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Damn Brit Quote
What do you want to take macros of? If you want to do flowers, 35mm or 50mm would be good. If you want to do insects, 70mm or above, most go for 100mm.
Mostly the idea is of my work surroundings ( i work in the maritime industry ). My idea is that it would be great to have both a sharp macro lens and an well behaving portrait lens (working distance 1-5m).
08-03-2009, 04:46 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by jah3 Quote
is there any macro lens that works great for portraits (w/o showing every blemish on skin)