Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-05-2009, 01:50 PM   #1

Advice on lenses.

I am fairly new to Digital SLR Photography. I have a ist DS, 18-55 kit lens. I picked up 2 Tokina zoom lenses. One is a 28-80 and the other is 100-300. Is it better to have a selection of good prime lenses or zoom lenses?

08-05-2009, 01:59 PM   #2
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi and welcome to the forum.
As you're just starting out, what you have would probably suffice... for now.
You have a good coverage of focal lengths with your zooms to get you experimenting with your shots right away.

Later on, you'll come to figure out WHAT things you mainly like to shoot, and as a result, what FOCAL LENGTHS you mainly shoot with. Then it also matters HOW you shoot what you shoot, which can be assisted with lenses with LARGE MAXIMUM APERTURES (I'm assuming you know what this means). These are the biggest determinants of what LENSES you should have.

In general, if you shoot at specific focal lengths most often you'd benefit from prime lenses, and if you shoot different subjects with all sorts of focal lengths, you'd probably be happier with zooms. Portraiture and low-light shooting, like concerts, indoor events and the like, might demand 'fast' lenses with those large maximum apertures that I mentioned before, in order to create a shallow depth of field, blurring out the distant background in the image.

Hope this helps.
08-05-2009, 02:00 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
with what you have you will be able to explore a lot of things, and zooms offer a good range of focal lengths.