Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-11-2009, 10:16 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
2x converter, worth it or just get longer lens?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I recently purchased the Pentax 18-250 lens for my K10D, and I must say its a great every day lens. However we were out on a canoe trip the other evening and I was trying to get some closeups of some Pelicans and found I could not get as close as I wanted without spooking them.

I am thinking about getting a 2X converter, but a quick search brought up a Sigma for about $300. I''m wondering if this is worthwhile or should I just put the $$ towards a longer lens. I've never used a converter before, can I expect decent pictures from it, do I lose much speed etc.? Do I need to spend $300 or can I pick up a decent one for less?

I'm looking at one on ebay for about $90 - anyone here have experience with these?

thanks!

08-11-2009, 10:22 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Don't buy cheap AF converters.
Search for 7 element versions, use strings like "7 MC teleconverter pentax", "7 elements teleconverter pentax".
I have recently tested not very widely known non-AF old Telemore95 II by Komura.
To be short - no go with my modern lenses, and pretty good with my old fast zoom.
Each teleconverter must be matched to perticular lens, so it can work ok with one and very bad with another.
08-11-2009, 10:23 AM   #3

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I use a 1.7X converter with my DA* 300mm F4 and get good results.

I don't think I'd advise using a 2X with the 18-250mm that would make it a 500mm F11 so you would need really bright light and up the ISO to use it.

Converters are best used on fast prime lenses.
08-11-2009, 10:26 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Glen_S Quote