Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-18-2009, 10:47 AM   #1

FA 31mm Limited troubles or is it me?

Just bought a mint FA 31. But when I use the the max aperture, it is fuzzy. I am not sure it is because me, the lens or my k20d. Thanks.

The flower seems fuzzy, but the ammeter seem ok.
The plate seems fuzzy, especially when I got a 100% crop.

All in K20D F/1.8 1/60 ISO 200

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K20D  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K20D  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K20D  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K20D  Photo 
08-18-2009, 10:55 AM   #2
Veteran Member

1/60th is pretty slow to be hand-held. Try it when you've got full daytime brightness and shutter speeds up above 1/250th.

Wide-open is almost never the sharpest for any lens, and I have no personal experience with the 31 so I can't help beyond that for that point.

Also, the license plate almost looks out of focus, are you sure you didn't move at all, between the step of focusing on the plate and actually taking the picture? Depth of field (what is acceptably sharp) is pretty thin at f/1.8 on any lens and if you moved your head forward 2", that might be enough to throw it off.
08-18-2009, 11:53 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Out of focus is the most common problem wide open for a fast lens like the FA 31. For a more rigorous test:
  • On tripod, SR off
  • Flat subject (newspaper tacked to a wall)
  • Well-lit
  • About 0.6 meters from the subject
  • Manual focus, best of five

Steve
08-18-2009, 11:55 AM   #4
Veteran Member

its just you

that licence plate photo is nearly a 400% crop

F1.8 is not known for being sharp, these are good photos for wide open!

08-18-2009, 12:06 PM   #5

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by stevebrot Quote
Out of focus is the most common problem wide open for a fast lens like the FA 31. For a more rigorous test:
  • On tripod, SR off
  • Flat subject (newspaper tacked to a wall)