Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-18-2009, 08:25 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Would LOVE some help.....

Hi Everyone,
I'm new to this forum, looks like a GREAT place for info and advice from fellow Pentaxians. I have owned a Pentax K100D super for about a year now. It came with the kit lenses and then I bought the 50mm 1.4(which I LOVE!!!) Anyways, I just came across an amazing deal on an old pentax and three lenses, and purchased them.

Here's the lenses etc

Pentax ME Super camera and accessories.
- Pentax 40-80mm lens
- Pentax 80-200mm telephoto lens
- Pentax 50mm lens
- 2X Teleconverter
- 200S flash
filters etc

Ok, so I am still pretty new to photography, and I have some questions about the lenses.

1. I know that non digital lenses equal a different focal length in digital (hope I'm making sense.. lol) so what do these lenses equal in digital format??

2. What are each of these lenses (macro, wide angle???)

3. What are the best uses for each of these lenses? I guess by that I mean is one better for landscape vs portrait etc.

4. Just out of curiousity , what would you pay for all the gear I listed?

I know that's alot of questions, but I sure appreciate any info! Looking forward to getting to know more of you on here! THANK YOU!

08-18-2009, 08:29 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Lenes are "stated focal length x 1.5"
so, 40 - 80 becomes 60 - 120.

- Pentax 40-80mm = normal(ish) zoom. Sometimes these are clsoe focus/macro.
- Pentax 80-200mm telephoto lens = telephoto zoom
- Pentax 50mm lens = normal PRIME lense. Prime being fixed focal length.

I would pay $150 for the lot but i am tight.

As for the best usage.... depends on you.

mike
08-18-2009, 08:37 PM   #3
Veteran Member