Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-21-2009, 11:46 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
deciding on a Fish Eye

Well, as part of my LBA, I am looking at getting a fish-eye lens.

I was looking at the

Zenitar 16mm f/2.8 MC Fisheye

Or

Pentax DA Fisheye 10-17mm F3.5-4.5

Well, there is a $300 price difference, and my question is pretty simple. Is there a big enough difference in quality to justify the extra $300.

I have been looking around in the fish-eye shot thread to see what each one has been producing. Just wanted your guys' thoughts

08-22-2009, 12:47 AM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I have the 10-17, and it's worth it, although I got it last year from a forum member much cheaper than what B&H are offering it for now.

Its versatility is invaluable and FE effect is strong at 10mm - a fun lens to use.
Very sharp, bright and contrasty.

Sorry, I have no experience with the Zenitar, but I can certainly vouch for the 10-17.
All the best in that.
08-22-2009, 03:05 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

The DA10-17 is like getting two lenses in one! A 10mm fisheye, and a 17mm extreme wideangle (or 14mm, 15mm, 16mm). A really fun and usefull lens.

You get this:

But also this:

And this thanks to the extreme minima focus distance:
08-22-2009, 05:58 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I looked at both (along with some rectilinear superwides) and chose the 10-17mm. I saw nice things from the Zenitar, but I decided the DA's features easily justified the cost difference. The Pentax goes from fishier-than-a-Zenitar to almost rectilinear, which makes it immensely versatile. Unless I get a job photographing architecture, I won't be needing a superwide lens. That dual character alone is worth the extra cost. Sharpness, CA, colour and contrast are all superb for the price and the lens feels solid and well-built. Plus, I guess I'm spoiled, but I like having auto exposure.