Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-25-2009, 07:04 PM   #1

Help with DA Ltd lenses

Hi all,

Being an engineer, I really appreciate good mechanical quality of gear. Many years ago, I was the proud owner of a new Spotmatic and some Takumar lenses and I really miss their beautiful tactile feel and quality. Now , I am setting up a new system and I really like the look of the DA Ltd lenses for the same reason. However, I have looked at some reviews of these lenses, and while most always comment about the superb construction and finish, they all seem to rate these lenses as quite average optically. I print my own up to a maximum of A3 or 13x19 inches, and so I would love to hear from any members who own some Ltd lenses about their opinions as to what quality I could expect? For some unknown reason Pentax are not well represented here in New Zealand with a lot of shops not even stocking Pentax. However I can get the gear from Australia sent over without much problem. I am particularly interested in the 15 f4, and the 21 f3.2. Any feedback would be appreciated.

John

08-25-2009, 07:26 PM   #2
Damn Brit

Welcome John, I have the 77 LTD and I am currently borrowing the 40 LTD. I find them both to be excellently built. I don't think you'll be disappointed.
Just one thing, rather than getting them shipped from Australia, you may find it cheaper to buy from B&H or Adorama in New York. A lot of people in your part of the world use them.
08-25-2009, 07:38 PM   #3

John,

The 77 LTD is an FA not the DA. Excellent lense though.
08-25-2009, 07:45 PM   #4
Damn Brit

QuoteOriginally posted by blind-bat Quote
John,

The 77 LTD is an FA not the DA. Excellent lense though.

Yeah sorry John, didn't mean to mislead you. FA or DA, the build quality is consistent across the LTD range though I believe.

08-25-2009, 08:13 PM   #5
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums