Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-18-2007, 12:27 AM   #1

Noob learns lessons with K100D -- Part II: Lenses (with questions)

Preface: I'm a total photography noob. A month ago, I new little more than the difference between optical and digital zoom on point'n shoot. I cursed having to use a point'n shoot at sporting events. I finally decided I wanted to learn some basic, elementary, but semi-real photography. With the Pentax K100D + 50-200mm $150 rebate, here I am. Thus begins my experience which I will document here in this thread in this section -- which includes a lot more questions than in Part I for the camera section.

Pentax DA 50-200mm f/4-5.6 ED (52mm)

The main reason I opted for the Pentax K100D is that I wanted a basic zoom lens that would give me about the same "reach" as a 8x in a point'n shoot. I figured this was a 35mm equivalent of about 300mm. The $150 body+lens rebate and reviews on the $220 Pentax DA 50-200mm sold me. Had I known the rebate would be extended, I probably would have waited until almost the American football season (late July) to buy. But oh well, I started early!

I have been extremely impressed with the DA 50-200mm so far, especially with a Hoya 52mm circular filter for shooting long out in the open (not perfect, but it does cancel some reflections, and improve the sky/water, at least for sub-$20 new). The only issue is that I'm concerned with the 50-200m that several have stated defected versions have been shipping. My auto-focus is fine, except for low-light, which everyone says is not defected (especially not at its rated f/5.6).

QUESTION: How do I tell if I have a defective version?
I can post some images.

Pentax AF 28-105mm f/4-5.6 IF (non-AL) (62mm)