Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-02-2009, 10:50 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Is the new DA* 55 worth the money??

I know that this is going to sound a bit like heresy to some but I am wrapping up a DA* 55mm f1.4 for return right now.

I took a few photos with it and compared them against my 50mm 1.4 ($250 US) and my 50mm 1.7 ($160 US) and I just can't justify the $650 dollars it will take to keep it. Don't get me wrong, it is a beautiful lens and the pictures it takes are very, very nice. I would love to keep it but the image quality just isn't stunning enough to justify the $400 premium over the SMCP FA 50 1.4.

I am a borderline gear junkie, and I am a long, long way from an expert on this topic, but I am having a really hard time telling the difference between the pictures from my FA 50 1.7 and this new DA* 55 1.4. I am not a pro photographer and probably never will be. I am just a hobbyist who loves to take pictures so I am definitely not in the same league as many of you on this site. I didn't take any pictures of square grids or do any other official tests. I didn't test for chromatic aberrations or distortion, I just tested this lens by using it as I would use any of my other lenses.

Not only couldn't I tell any difference between the image quality but neither could my wife or my daughter when I printed out samples from the 55 and my two 50s. Additionally there was a noticeable difference in focus speed and accuracy, the FA 50 whipped this new DA* hands down in that regard. I had a terrible time getting the DA* to focus on my cat for a test picture in decent indoor light, but when I switched to my 50 1.7 I was able to auto-focus and snap a decent picture in what seemed like milliseconds. In fact, my kit lens (the DA 18-55) was able to focus and take a picture in the same room. That performance was so disappointing that I took the lens off right then and packed it back in the box.