Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-11-2009, 08:14 AM   #1

K1000 Zoom

Hi, I'm a novice and new to this forum. I have a K1000 that takes in my opinion, very nice, sharp pictures with the stock 50mm lense that it came with. I have been wanting a zoom lens for a long time and I would like to hear your suggestions, as to which zoom lens would be my best choice for "some wildlife", "objects," "people," and "structure" shots like old homesites etc. Money IS an issue, and if at all possible can I get a good lens that will do this for $300.00 or less? I saw a couple of Pentax 70-210mm f4 smc A Macro's for less than $200.00, does anyone know about these? and if they do, or don't perform well? I don't have to have (only) Pentax, but I would like something that works well and is user friendly, please tell me what my options are. All advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks K

09-11-2009, 08:27 AM   #2

Original Poster
I almost forgot, would I gain or loose a great deal by not going to 300mm? verses staying around 200 or so??
09-11-2009, 08:27 AM   #3
pbo
Veteran Member

I can't say much about Pentax-A 70-210/4, but I can suggest you look in the reviews section.
Also, you can find cheaper lenses if you look for original K-mount lenses (the one you mentioned is KA-mount. While it will work fine with your K1000, it has an "A" feature - control of aperture from body - that K1000 can't use. So, you'll have a redundant feature unless you plan to upgrade later).
I have and can definitely recommend a lens called Tamron SP 70-210 f/3.5 (19AH). It should probably cost no more than $100, and is very, very sharp. With a proper adapter it will also function as a full-featured K-mount lens (adapter should go for less than $20). Design and execution are also top-notch. It's a tad heavy, though.