Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-22-2007, 10:31 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Some Quick SLR to DSLR Lens Questions?

Hey all.

After doing some extensive research and weighting, I've decided that my first drop into the DSLR world from film would be with the Pentax K10D – this decision would keep Pentax as an exclusive in my arsenal. However, upon looking at B&H Photo, the only lens they couple the body with on the cheap is the SMCP-DA 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6.

Now, for as long as I've been using Pentaxes (especially my K1000), I've grown accustomed to my worn-in SMC Pentax-M 50mm f/2.0. I'm completely at a loss as to if the SMCP-DA 18-55mm would behave like my old SMC P-M.

Any insight into Pentax's confusing digital lenses / analog compatibility schema would be pretty awesome. This is my first time really delving into lenses seriously.

05-22-2007, 10:55 AM   #2
Inactive Account

It's confusing? Not really.

I see two things in your post that can be easily adressed:

* Buy the FA35/2 and think about it as the direct replacement for your old M50/2, just better, sharper and with higher contrast.

* Don't pass on the kit lens.

As the sensor is a bit smaller than the 24x36mm frames a 35mm lens will roughly give you the same the field of view (FOV) as the 50 used to do.

The kit lens is good for the money, it has decent close-up capabilities and it will let you try different focal lengths (FL).

This is a good start as you get a cheap way of learning new stuff, like compose with a moderate wide (the kit at 18mm gives you a the same FOV as an 28mm lens in the old money), learn the camera and so on, at the same time as you are pretty much set for anything.

Then I think you'll have to be a bit more specific with your questions - or are you asking for a crach course in everything about Pentax lenses?

good luck,
05-22-2007, 11:16 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Jonas B Quote