Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-17-2009, 12:55 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Focal length question

You probably get this question a lot so I'm sorry in advance for being a total newb, but I've tried Google but suprisingly couldnt find much info on the subject or at least nothing written in simple terms. I just want it to hear the answer right from the mouths of Pentax users I guess

My question is, when you are using a DA or DA* series lens, do you still have to factor in the crop factor for APS-C sensors?

I know when I'm using an FA lens I need to multiply by 1.5 to get the focal length that I'm actually using. But do I have to do the same multiplication to a DA or DA* lens?

So my 18-55 DA kit lens is really a 27-82.5, and my Tamron 90mm Di macro lens is really 135?

And if so, why do they designate it as FA and DA/DA*?

09-17-2009, 01:06 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
The focal lengths of a lens remain the same on any camera but any lens on a Pentax DSLR has a cropped field of view by a factor of 1.5.

So yes, a 18-55 DA kit lens looks the same through a DSLR viewfinder as a 27-82.5 would on a film camera.

Last edited by Spock; 09-17-2009 at 03:48 AM.
09-17-2009, 01:26 AM   #3
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
A bit more information:

The FA lens is designed to be used on a film camera or in the current parlance a "Full Frame" dSLR. A DA lens is designed for an APS-C dSLR.

A full frame sensor is essentially the same size as a 35mm film frame, whereas an APS-C sensor is smaller. Hence the name full frame.