Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-30-2009, 08:11 AM   #1

DA* 16-50 how to test quality

Ok I am a total newbie with this lens business. But I want to purchase the 16-50mm and I was wondering what is the best way to test sharpness, distortion etc. I read somewhere that someone taped some sort of a grid on his wall and photographed it. But how do you guys do it?

thanks

09-30-2009, 08:40 AM   #2
Forum Member

Just take a lot of pictures to see if you like it or not.
09-30-2009, 08:45 AM   #3
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi again.
First do a focus test using a proper focus test chart - these are available online - and follow its instructions to test it properly.

Once you're convinced focusing is spot on, then proceed to shoot flat subjects (brick-walls come to mind, and are commonly picked) at varying focal lengths wide-open - this will give you an imperfect idea of whether the lens is centrally sharp (which it should be) and reasonably sharp at the edges (which it should be also for a medium to far flat subject - beware interpreting corner softness using a close subject!)

Distortion is evident at 16mm, so don't be put off by that, but it shouldn't be too objectionable.
Then last of all, shoot real-world images with it (most important step) - you must be happy with these results if you are going to be at all happy with your lens.

All the best for that.
Hope this helped.
09-30-2009, 09:01 AM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Ash Quote
beware interpreting corner softness using a close subject!)
What do you mean by this?

Wouldnt a newspaper, taped to my apartment wall do the same thing? And how far must I stand away from the brick wall?

09-30-2009, 09:39 AM   #5
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Look at the distances from the lens to the flat object you're shooting.