Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-30-2009, 10:54 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Dg dl apo?

Hey all, new to all of this and am looking at getting some glass for the K20D in the very near future. I just wanted to know what the deal is with APO and the different DL and DG lenses out there. I'm particularly interested in a 70-300mm macro DL or a 70-300mm macro DG APO. Obviously (just by looking at the price), the DG APO is a better lens, but is is THAT much better?

I'm just a beginner in all of this and wanted to get some low cost glass to play with and I guess I just want some opinions on if the DL lens will work for me. I've seen sample shot from both lenses and they both look great (even some of the DL's look better IMO).

09-30-2009, 11:56 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
not so sure what DL stands for, the sigma lenses APO stands for aprochromatic, and DG stands for full frame, DC is used for ASP-C sensors.

DG lenses may cost more because they have to make images to the larger image circle of a 35mm frame (36x24mm) as opposed to ASP-C frame (roughly 24 x 16mm)
09-30-2009, 12:15 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The more acronyms a manufacturers puts on the lens, the better they want you to think it is. But really, they don't translate into anything you need to care about. Just because a lens is marked APO (or whatever) doens't make automatically than one that isn't, since there are so many other variable involved. Ignore the acronyms, and buy the lens based on basic specs (focal length, aperture, size, weight, etc) and samples / reviews, not arcane technical details of what kind of glass was used or whatever.
09-30-2009, 01:12 PM   #4
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Between those two lenses mentioned, there is very little discernible difference in image quality. DGs were designed in the digital era whereas the DL one wasn't - as Marc says, this means little.