Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-10-2009, 04:48 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
To zoom or not to zoom?

I have an FA 50mm f1.4 and an 18-50mm kit lens on a K20D. I've been saving for a new lens and am seeking some advice in terms of where I should be directing my funds.

I have conducted a self-survey of sorts to assist: -

- 80% of my images are captured using the FA 50mm. The image quality is in a league of it's own but to be honest, I have been wanting of a shorter focal length. On the odd occasion I have made do by distancing myself from my subject to the detriment of composition;
- Those taken in the last twelve months on the kit lens have predominately been between 30-40mm focal lengths;
- My preferred subject matter are my kids and family.
- Whilst I have used the F1.4 frequently (indoors), I have found that I can get away with F2.8 in most cases using higher ISO;
- I'm an amateur, but over the last five yars and 8-9000 photos taken have developed an eye for a good quality image, hence the desire to dispense with the kit lens;

In the humble opinion of any prospective respondent, should I be looking at another prime lens or an f2.8 24-70mm type zoom?

I naturally have an inclination towards one answer here, but would appreciate input from more experienced contributors.

10-10-2009, 05:04 AM   #2
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

You do rationalise your preliminary decision well, and I couldn't suggest otherwise given your background...
Only other suggestions would be to consider the new Sigma 30/1.4 if you're happy with zooming with your feet.

Just be sure you rarely or never need to have something wider than 24mm - it's not so wide on an APS-C cam.
10-10-2009, 05:23 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster