Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-14-2009, 09:51 AM   #1

Takumar freebies

So...I work as an English teacher in Japan and every Wednesday I teach a seniors English circle. After 2 years the members know of my love for Pentax and my passion for photography in general.

So tonight, an older lady "gave" me two beautiful looking Takumar lenses. She said she bought them for a class at university almost 40 years ago. She threw away the body years ago.

These lenses are in absolutely pristine on the outside, focus and aperture rings are smooth as silk. Not a mark or a scratch to be found on the lens bodies.
In the original leather cases with original screw on hoods. From first glance I swear they look like they have never been used (which is probably the truth)

The problem is they are both infected with fungus.
The 135 f3.5 is the worst affected, while it looks pristine from the outside the fungus has well and truly taken hold between the glass elements.

The 35mm 3.5 is not so bad and is still usable, although the beginnings of fungal growth are evident.

Unlike the In the states where men make it their hobby and a lucrative side business to repair old Pentax gear, here in Japan I know of no-one who does the same thing.

Pentax Japan, is these days very reluctant to repair any of the older pieces and if they do it is not cheap.

But these lenses are so perfect cosmetically, they actually look like new stock.
Do you think it is worth paying Pentax at least $200 to overhaul the lenses?

Regards,

Paul.

10-14-2009, 09:58 AM   #2
D W
Veteran Member

Paul:

It is just the labour cost of overhauling and disinfecting the lenses in Japan is too high to make it worthwhile.

If you are ever in Taiwan or Hong Kong you can try repair shops there.

OR

Buy a ugly(well used) lens of the same model and swap elements.

HTH

Last edited by D W; 10-14-2009 at 09:59 AM. Reason: addendum
10-14-2009, 10:08 AM   #3
Veteran Member