Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-02-2009, 05:24 AM   #1

How to select the appropriate lens hood?

Hi there everyone, I have a SMC Takumar 35mm f3.5 lens and a Super Tak 55mm f1.8 lens and I have read articles upon articles stating the usefulness of a lens hood. However, I am at a lost as to what kind of lens hood would be appropriate for my SMC Tak 35mm and the Super Tak 55m. I have searched around for info but still, am unable to find any info about it. Also, I understand that it has been advised by many, to use a lens hood for wide angle lenses, but in your own opinion, would it be good to get a hood for the Super Tak 55mm?

Sorry for asking so many questions. I am very new to all of these and am pretty excited to know more and I wish someone could enlighten me. Thank you.

11-02-2009, 06:51 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Presuming you are mounting these things to a DLSR, then you want a lens hood designed for a longer lens.
11-02-2009, 07:07 AM   #3

Original Poster
Hi wheatfield, I am using both these lenses with a Spotmatic SP.
11-02-2009, 08:29 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
If you want a decent hood to use for the field, I recommend the Hoya hood. Rubber with 3 positions to cover different focal lengths, thus it should work interchangably for both lenses. The downside (which is why I mention field use) is that you can't put a lens cap on your lens while using it. I tend to leave lens caps off while out shooting and put them on for storage, so it isn't a problem for me.

11-02-2009, 08:36 AM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
you might want to try this link

Custom lens hoods

there was also a spreadsheet called Hoodcalc.xls but I can't find a link any longer.