Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-04-2007, 08:04 PM   #1
Inactive Account




Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Darwin, Australia
Posts: 203
Vivitar 105mm f2.5 Macro Info!

I know there are a few people in the forum that have the lens mentioned in the title. I was wondering if this lens has an 'A' on the aperture ring because if it does I wouldn't need to use stop down metering on the K10D. It looks to have great sharpness and nice bokeh which is why I'm interested in making it my designated macro. I'm trying to do as much research into lenses this time before buying, before I rushed into into it. So far I am interested in a Sigma 17-70mm, Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 (Patiently waiting for that one like all others in here I guess), Pentax FA 50mm f1.7, a good 135mm prime (open to suggestions there) and the Vivitar series 1 105mm Macro (if it has the 'A').

PS> It would be good if Pentax made a 24-70mm f2.8 lens and a new 70-200mm to go with it. Maybe in the future hey!!

Hope someone can help me with the macro question or anything else to do with my lens selection.\


Tim

06-04-2007, 08:12 PM   #2
Veteran Member
HogRider's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arizona, USA
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 608
So far every K Mount Vivitar Series 1 105mm f2.5 lens I have ever seen had an "A" on the aperture ring. I don't know if they ever made a non A version.
06-04-2007, 08:20 PM   #3
Inactive Account




Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Darwin, Australia
Posts: 203
Original Poster
Ahh, that's great to hear, I have looked for pics of the lens to try and see the 'A' on the ring but I can't see it. So you can confirm that the lens meters in AV mode without the need for stop down metering? If so I might pick up one of those New/Old ones if I can find one.
06-04-2007, 10:03 PM   #4
Inactive Account




Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Darwin, Australia
Posts: 203
Original Poster
It would be nice to see 3rd Party lenses reviewed in the database but maybe I'm just not searching correctly.

06-05-2007, 08:29 AM   #5
Veteran Member
HogRider's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arizona, USA
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 608
QuoteOriginally posted by Timbuctoo Quote
Ahh, that's great to hear, I have looked for pics of the lens to try and see the 'A' on the ring but I can't see it. So you can confirm that the lens meters in AV mode without the need for stop down metering? If so I might pick up one of those New/Old ones if I can find one.
If the lens has an "A" on the aperture ring it will definitely meter without you having to manually step down, as long as you keep it locked in the "A" position.
The only thing this lens does not do is AF and it also doesn't record the focal length in the EXIF, unless you manually add it when using the shake reduction.
06-05-2007, 02:00 PM   #6
Inactive Account




Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Hi,
I have this lens. Actually i just got it this weekend and it does have "A" on the aperture ring. As mentioned above you will have to set the SR manually to 100mm the closes i could get in the menu.
06-05-2007, 02:53 PM   #7
roy
Inactive Account
roy's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: D/FW area, Tx.
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 1,712
i just did a sharpness test on this lens
for center sharpness go
HERE
for edge sharpness go
HERE

Last edited by roy; 06-06-2007 at 04:41 AM.
06-05-2007, 11:51 PM   #8
Veteran Member
bc_the_path's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ankara, Turkey
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 390
It does have the "A" setting, as a beautiful metal button, in fact !

Roy,
The "edge sharpness" link does not work...


Last edited by bc_the_path; 06-06-2007 at 12:10 AM.
06-06-2007, 04:42 AM   #9
roy
Inactive Account
roy's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: D/FW area, Tx.
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 1,712
QuoteOriginally posted by bc_the_path Quote
It does have the "A" setting, as a beautiful metal button, in fact !

Roy,
The "edge sharpness" link does not work...
try it now
06-06-2007, 04:43 AM   #10
roy
Inactive Account
roy's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: D/FW area, Tx.
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 1,712
i also have the owners manual online
HERE
06-06-2007, 08:48 AM   #11
Inactive Account




Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Norfolk , Va.
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 133
Received mine yesterday afternoon from the UPS man.
Almost as nice as that new camera smell opening the box,taking out the lens from the case and putting it to camera. Yeehaa! Money well spent I do believe.
Kenn
06-07-2007, 04:07 PM   #12
Forum Member




Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 84
Yes there are a few more on ebay now, I just picked one up for 188 + 12 shipping for 200, seems it can't be beat, also that link to the manual dosen't work for me, permission error.
06-07-2007, 05:31 PM   #13
roy
Inactive Account
roy's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: D/FW area, Tx.
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 1,712
QuoteOriginally posted by Avantphoto Quote
Yes there are a few more on ebay now, I just picked one up for 188 + 12 shipping for 200, seems it can't be beat, also that link to the manual dosen't work for me, permission error.
does the manual link for anyone??? you've got to have acrobat reader installed. the link works fine for me.
how about it?? i want to share this with people that don't have the manual.
06-07-2007, 07:22 PM   #14
Forum Member




Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 84
OK it works if i use this link, you had an FTP link

http://www.texasbostons.com/Vivitar105manual.pdf
12-08-2008, 02:07 AM   #15
Inactive Account




Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Hello there, I have just bought a Vivitar 105 f2.5 macro, but it didn't come with a manual.

I found the link here, but the link just takes me to the missing page message. Is the manual still available, Roy?

Thanks in advance.

Regards

Angus
Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
105mm, 105mm f2.5 macro, 70-200mm, f2.8, k-mount, lens, macro, pentax, pentax lens, sigma, slr lens, vivitar, vivitar 105mm f2.5
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vivitar 28-105mm macro zoom ? tmacdon Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 5 05-07-2010 04:09 PM
For Sale - Sold: Vivitar S1 105mm f2.5 1:1 Macro; Tamron SP 90mm f2.8 1:1 Macro; Pentax-F 1.7X thomasxie Sold Items 4 02-02-2010 05:40 AM
Macro Work with Vivitar 105mm 2.5 Hannican Post Your Photos! 26 04-19-2009 01:50 AM
Macro with the Vivitar 105mm f/2.5 Hannican Post Your Photos! 5 01-25-2009 06:59 PM
Another new Vivitar 105mm Macro Bramela Post Your Photos! 8 05-23-2008 10:27 AM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:01 PM. | See also: NikonForums.com, CanonForums.com part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top