Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-12-2009, 04:24 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Sigma 30mm F1.4 reflections - happen on all F1.4 lenses wide open?

Hi,

This feels like a total newb question, but then again I owe everything I know about photog from this forum so no need to be bashful.

I bought the Sigma 30mm f1.4 mostly to shoot low light shots (duh) including friends in pubs. I've noticed that in lots of shots, the brighter lights will be reflected in a green/orange glow upside down on the opposite side of the frame.

For example - took a few shots of my friend at the fantastic Gordon's Wine Bar in London. The room is extremely dark and lit only by candle light - so I was shooting the lens wide open at f1.4. Composition included my friend sitting at the table with a candle slightly in front of her to the right side. In every shot, there was a green mirror image of the candle flame on the left portion of the frame.

This was even worse when I shot a neon sign on top of a building, taken from a good 200 yards away from the opposite end of the plaza. You could actually see the entire sign, letters and all, upside down in a green/orange glow superimposed over the bottom part of the building.

Is this a normal issue with super fast lenses wide open? If so, what can I do to avoid or minimize this effect without removing the candle? Or does my Sigma have issues (still under warranty so I can send back)?

Cheers,
Mugs

11-12-2009, 05:06 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Do you use a hood when shooting?
11-12-2009, 05:10 PM   #3

This sounds like reflection from filters.... Do you use any filter?
I know I will get these type of reflection if I used a cheap filter. Problem solved by using high grade Pro-1 Digital filter.
11-12-2009, 06:04 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter