Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-15-2009, 06:28 PM   #1

Good value used prime alternative to SMC-A f/1.4?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I'm looking for a used fast 50mm prime for my K-x to shoot some basketball (the kit 18-55 is forcing me to f4/125/6400 which doesn't freeze the action and has high grain). Ideal case is a SMC A F/1.4, however these are getting harder and harder to find in my <$125 target price. What other alternatives are there from other manufacturers that would still give me auto-aperture ("A" setting)?. I'm a newbie and going full manual metering is a bit daunting. Basically are there other 'A' type lenses from Takumar, Sears etc worth considering.?

Thanks,
Jon.

11-15-2009, 06:33 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
maybe look at some of the Soviet lens options? Or scower ebay for brand-x 50mm primes in either a k-mount or m42 (m42 means full manual including setting the aperture).

EDIT: OOPS...dunno how but I missed you were asking for something that was still had an "A" setting on the aperture ring. D'oh!! Anyway, I just ran across this auction ending tomorrow for an A 50mm 1.4...it's at $91 now so who knows if you wait and snipe it might stick within your budget?

http://cgi.ebay.com/SMC-Pentax-A-50mm-f-1-4-Camera-Lens-KA-Works-with-DSLRs_...item414a7b3304

Last edited by brecklundin; 11-15-2009 at 06:54 PM.
11-15-2009, 07:46 PM   #3

I just got A 50mm 1.7 off ebay for $56, its just a tad slower then the 1.4 but from what I've heard its much more usable wide open. I really like that lens, but I can't compare it to the A50mm 1.4 since I've never owned that lens.
11-15-2009, 07:51 PM   #4