Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-16-2009, 02:55 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Auto or Manual?

I'm about to buy my first Dslr; the Pentax Kx(hoping the DP review will come out by the time I get the money together). I'll be a total newbie to slr photography despite the amount of reading I have been doing. So my question is, along with my kit lenses, which should be my first prime? I'll practice on the kit lenses first, of course, and won't have alot to spend. I'll probably get a 50mm, but as a beginner should I go for autofocus and the extra cash that might entail, or manual with the smaller price tag but possibly larger learning curve? Long winded question over.

Thanks alot!

11-16-2009, 03:16 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Well there are four types of lens you can go for:

Autofocus (F, FA, FA J , DA) - Most expensive, but do everything for you.
Auto aperture Manual focus (A) - Medium Expensive, but work on dSLR, minus focus.
Manual Focus (K, M) - Cheaper, Need to be stop down metered on dSLR.
M42 Screw Mount - Cheapest (?). Like the other MF lenses but also need an adapter.

The image quality of the primes was good throughout all the series. The build quality and focus 'feel' gets better the further away you get from AF.

Generally speaking, if you don't have a split prism focussing screen I would stick to AF lenses. If you want to learn about how aperture affects your final image get one of the pre-'a' lenses, they don't make lenses like that any more!
11-16-2009, 03:32 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Use the kit lenses pretty long time before buying a new lens, I suggest. Believe me you will have better idea about you next lens. But, if you want something for low light photograpy buy the FA 50mm f/1.4.
For a beginner, I don't suggest manual lenses, you may have a hard time for focusing and miss some beautiful shots.
11-16-2009, 03:39 PM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Emre Quote