Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-16-2009, 06:50 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Basic filters...

I'm just an amateur so not looking to spend a ton here, but I guess I need some filters... a circular polarizer and a ND filter?

Can someone suggest something specific? A link directly to the product would be great...

I just have the kit lens for the K20D...

Thanks,

Ken

11-16-2009, 07:07 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Hi,

you do not need filters if you don't have a specific use for them. filters can be very useful, but they are not necessary depending on what you want to photograph.

As to brands, Hoya, B+W, and many others are great. tiffen are average, no-names are usually worthless, etc.
11-17-2009, 08:54 AM   #3

Original Poster
I appreciate the response but there is such a large variety of filters I can't make heads or tails of it...

For example.. Just looking at Circular polarizers, just from Hoya, just for 52mm lenses... There are a dozen options!! and there is little info to distinguish them at least that I can understand...

ND filters are possibly worse in this regard!

Can someone just point me to a SPECIFIC option for a decent or good filter set for general use?

Thanks,

Ken
11-17-2009, 09:34 AM   #4
Pentaxian

I think the ideal thing to do is to get familiar with your camera to determine whether you really need any filters or not. In the digital world you can often get away with minimal use of filters. I've been at photography for many years and my filter use is limited to a polarizer and nothing more. I do sometimes wish I had a ND filter or filter set, but that is so rarely, and I am often able to compensate through other methods.