Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-18-2009, 12:03 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
FA and DA Series Lens Comparison Question

Hi folks-

I'm still new to Pentax gear, and DSLRs for that matter, and am very impressed with Pentax (and this crowd).

Anyway, I'm starting to look around for my next, second, lens purchase and have been looking mainly at DA lenses, but the FA77 for sale caught my eye, then I started looking at FAs and also Fs. My question, which I'm certain has been asked many times before, is, what is the main difference for use with DSLRs between the DA and FA/F series. Performance? Some images from the FAs and Fs are amazing.

Many thanks.

11-18-2009, 12:16 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
FA works just as good if not better.

DA series focused on small and compact. And many are slower aperture wise because of that. There is supposedly a coating on the rear element (as with all "digital" lenses have) that the older lenses don't have, but I can't really see any differences.

DA series has quick-shift, which can be quite useful. Also, the DA has the only weather resistant lenses (WR and DA*).

They also hold more information and can allow lens correction (distortion and CA), which could be corrected in PP.

PentaxForums.com - The Largest Pentax-Dedicated Forum Community - Lens Reviews
11-18-2009, 12:30 AM   #3
Site Supporter