Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-18-2009, 04:15 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Restoring an old friend: 50mm f2

Hello,

I've had this lens for a few years but didn't use it much because it had dust and some fungus inside. I have some experience disasembling cheaper lenses so last week I decided to give it a try to this one. After all, this is most likely the most common 50mm lens in Pentax history.

Before: fungus (or mold) was behind the aperture blades and the most dust behind the front element.

During surgery.

The end result:

Test with the K100DS. Absolutely no PP. Straight from the camera.
1/800 @ f8.0

Click here for the full size pic:http://images52.fotki.com/v644/fileIjuu/9cd8e/4/1233394/8163544/IMGP0757.jpg

I feel like getting a new lens for free

What do you think?

Thanks,

11-18-2009, 05:02 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Well done!
The M/A50 f/2 isn't as highly regarded as their f/1.4 and f/1.7 brothers, but not bad lens at all, especially considering the price. I learned much from the M version of the lens, possibly the cheapest way of exploring low-light-photography without a flash.
11-18-2009, 06:44 PM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Very cool. Problem fixed and you did not have to go deep into the innards! Good job!

Steve
11-18-2009, 08:35 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I just got a 200mm Cosina prime with fungi. Seller refunded my money so I feel I can experiment with a cleaning. Any experience with teles or other general advice would be much appreciated. Also, did you just use "standard" lens cleaner or something else?

Thanks.

11-19-2009, 04:45 AM   #5
Veteran Member