Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-23-2009, 10:02 AM   #1
Inactive Account

First M42 Lenses

I'm new to Photography and purchased a Pentax K20D with a kit lens. After reading the forum and looking at some of the picture, I took the leap and purchased three M42 Super- Takumar lenses. F1.4 50mm, F2 55mm, and a F3.5 135mm. I also ordered a new Pentax adapter from the pentax store. Waiting on it to be delivered two weeks and still waiting

Could someone explain the metering for me using AV mode or the process to take a picture. I want to use these lenses with a tripod to get very sharp picture plus I want to learn how to compose pictures using these lens. I will be taking pictures of still shots and maybe cats and dogs no sports events.

Thank you all for your help this is a fun hobby.

11-23-2009, 10:15 AM   #2
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forums. Nice kit and a very good start with these lenses. I'd recommend you get hoods if they don't already have them. The 50mm f1.4 is one of the nicest lenses avaiable to us.

I have a bunch of M42 glass and I always shoot manual mode. So reallt it's getting used to the unique qualities of each lens. For the most part when using the green button, they meter pretty accurately at or near wide open. At middle apertures (f8 f11 etc. I find they will meter 1.5 or 2 stops underexposed but that can vary from lens to lens.

For me, it's using the histogram and chimping a shot much of the time or using the Sunny 16 rule.

Can't help you with AV mode.
11-23-2009, 11:10 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Aperture-preferred auto is the preferred mode for using M42 lenses on bodies (film and digital) that support Av. The procedure is simple:
  • Put body in Av mode
  • Put A/M switch on lens in the M position
  • Open lens to widest aperture
  • Focus
  • Stop down to desired shooting aperture
  • Expose