Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-01-2009, 07:31 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Sigma AF 30 1.4 vs Pentax FA 31 1.8 questions

I've been searching and reading pentaxforums for several months (excellent infotainment!) and the contributors have helped me with the decision to purchase a K-7 with the typical 18-55 and 50-200 lens kit that I have been using to practice photography for a couple of months now. The kit lenses seem to be pretty good for most of my shooting experiences except for low light interior/people shots or video. I'm looking for some lens advice. I've been all over the place with the pros and cons of trying to make a decision on the first general use (if that's possible) prime FL I should buy with low light use in mind. I don't have a lot of money for a good range of primes so it's a 1 lens a year purchase I have to live with for now. I think the 30mm +- a couple FL seems to be the best compromise. So I've been exploring the potential of the Pentax FA 31mm F1.8 limited or Sigma's 30mm F1.4 EX DC HSM.

I'd like to get your opinions. Is the Sigma, at more than half the price of the Pentax FA, good value/investment or should I keep saving for the 31 FA?
OR am I going down the wrong path and need to look at other options.

thx Greg

12-01-2009, 09:08 AM   #2
Veteran Member

The Sigma 30/1.4 is a great lens at its asking price, though you have to understand that a) though well-built it's nowhere near the quality feel of a Limited series lens, and b) it has very soft edges wide open that only become "good" when stopped down. However, the center sharpness is extremely high from wide open. I get some nice results with mine:

12-01-2009, 10:03 AM   #3
Igilligan

The real question is...

Are you ready for manual focus yet?

If you are there are a bucket full of lenses you can get for the price of thoses lenses. That will give you wonderful results.