Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-05-2009, 08:07 PM   #1

whats with all these odd-named lens?

So i'm fairly new to the world of Dslr although not new to photgraphy in general. anyways i've been doing a bit of research(and a wee bit of buying lol) on lens and i've ran across some colorful names such as Soligor, Jupiter, Zenitar, Travenar, Chinon etc etc etc and the list go's on and on. any help would be appreciated and any info on any of the brands i didnt mention would be much-appreciated. thanks

12-05-2009, 09:20 PM   #2

Original Poster
i'm not sure you understand what i'm asking. I would like to know any possible virtues of these third party lenses. for example the first three series 1 vivitar 70-210 lenses are known for being good glass. i would like to know if any of these brands have anything worth spending my money on. I'm typing on an Apple just purchased a Ticket through Expedia, and bought items off Ebay... Soooo... Once again any help would be appreciated!
12-05-2009, 09:33 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Third Party Lenses

QuoteOriginally posted by privateryan Quote
So i'm fairly new to the world of Dslr although not new to photgraphy in general. anyways i've been doing a bit of research(and a wee bit of buying lol) on lens and i've ran across some colorful names such as Soligor, Jupiter, Zenitar, Travenar, Chinon etc etc etc and the list go's on and on. any help would be appreciated and any info on any of the brands i didnt mention would be much-appreciated. thanks
There was once a website that covered hundreds, if not thousands of these lenses, but it seems to be not working right now, but give it a try from time to time:

Third Party Lenses Resource Megasite Home Page
by Robert Monaghan