Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-06-2009, 06:01 AM   #1
Inactive Account

advice needed from lens gurus

ok, i walk into a pawn shop while on a business trip 1000 miles from home without my k7. on the shelf i see a clearly labeled pentax lens with da, al, af, k, u2 and r2d2, etc. on the lens. i think i would know how to check for scratches but have never been instructed on how to check for fungus, oil on blades, snappy performance, etc. how would i be reasonably be sure that this lens is a good buy?
right beside this lens is an unmarked lens except for the label, 50mm f/1.2, with a serial number and "made in japan" on it. with the advice that you have previously given me i determine that this is a bargain lens but don't know if that little "thingy" is a bayonet mount or not or if this is a k mount lens that will work on my k7. is there a way to tell? i am a true newbie on this so please hold the flaming to a reasonable level. tia

12-06-2009, 06:11 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
you need to look at the lens

there are not that many F1.2 50mmlenses around.

obviously if it says pentax or SMC on the front it is pentax.

but there are chinon and a few other K mounts.

the easiest way to tell is to ask for a known pentax lens and compare the mounts.
12-06-2009, 06:16 AM   #3
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

If you're not sure how to look for fungus/haze/cleaning marks/oily blades, then have the lens held for you and get someone who does know what to look for. These things do matter significantly.

This more knowledgeable friend should also tell you what mount it is - or you can simply bring your camera in to try and mount it - be careful of how this is done to avoid the lens getting stuck on the camera's mount.

All the best.
12-06-2009, 11:10 AM   #4
Pentaxian