Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-08-2009, 03:37 PM   #1

IQ difference between FA and A 50mm/1.4?

I am a newbie to DLSR's, and have a K20D with the basic kit zoom lens. I have been reading about the joys of fast primes, specifically the FA 50/1.4 Being on a budget, I began wondering about how the IQ of the A series 50/1.4 compares to it. I wouldn't mind manual focusing (based on reading some linked articles) if the IQ is comparable. Any opinions?

12-08-2009, 03:57 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
They have the same optical formula, so IQ is probably the same. The FA has later versions of the SMC coating, that might make a small difference.

The A version is better for manual focusing, with a better feel and more precise focus ring. The FA makes manual focusing a little harder, only because it's set up for auto focus.

Both kinds of focus have their quirks with DSLRs at apertures from f1.4 to f2.8. Auto focus might lock on to something behind or in front of your subject, and the extremely narrow depth of field will leave your subject out of focus. The smaller viewfinders and newer focus screens make determining the actual focus point hard. You may find Live View helpful.
12-08-2009, 04:10 PM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Typically, the "A" version is still pretty expensive. If you're thinking of going that way to save money, you can save a *lot* more by getting either the A50/1.7 (which many actually prefer over the 1.4), M50/1.4 (if you must have the 1.4).
12-08-2009, 07:09 PM   #4
Pentaxian

While all the Pentax 50s are very good, some are better in some areas that others.
I'm a bit of a 50 junkie, and while I haven't formally tested, I can tell you what I've found qualitiatively, if not quantitatively between some of the 50s