Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-16-2009, 02:34 AM   #1

Super Takumar 55 F2 vs Helios 44M-4 58mm F2

Hi

I recently bought K20D with DA 18-55 AL II kit lens
I am a newbie in photography

I have an old Super Takumar 55 F2 from my father's old camera (s1a)
which is at least 30 years old
I came across an opportunity to buy a completely new Helios 44M-4 58mm F2
(the seller says it has never been used and that it's still in its original box)
he sells it for 53$, no shipment required since we live nearby

I still haven't tried my Super Takumar since I am waiting for the M42 adapter to arrive, so I don't know the condition of the lens

my questions are:
how do these two lenses (Helios 58 F2,Takumar 55 F2) compare in general (IQ, DOF, Bokeh, etc) ?
how do they compare to Pentax SMC FA 50mm F1.4 ? (a lens which I also consider buying since it has AF)
should I get the Helios ?

12-16-2009, 02:53 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum!
  • The price on the Helios seems a little high by U.S. standards. The 44M-4 usually goes for under $30 USD.
  • The Super Tak offers the convenience of the M/F switch. The Helios will require modification to convert the aperture to fully manual operation.
  • Both lenses are decent performers as is the FA 50/1.4
Since you are a newbie, I would suggest that you shoot with the Tak 55/2 until you get the hang of manual lenses. If the experience is agreeable, you might want to try a Helios or any other fast 50 at some point, though I would not expect miracles! If you are willing to spend as much as $50, I would get a Pentax-A 50/2, Pentax-M 50/1.7, or Pentax-K 55/1.8. The convenience factor of the K-mount and automatic aperture is worth it.

Steve

(Love my Helios 44M, but realize it's limitations...)
12-16-2009, 03:30 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter