Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-14-2007, 11:04 PM   #1

General Purpose Lens for the K10d Body

I have been happily using a Nikon F3 with non zoom lenses for the past 30 years, but have finally decided to join the digital age. I am a not a novice to photography, but I have no experience with a digital SLR.

After some research, I have decided on the Pentax K10d body and I would like some advice on the lens to use with the K10d body. Initially I will only have a general purpose/“walking around lens”. I am not too concerned about extreme wide angle and I usually use a lens in the 35mm-105mm range with the Nikon. I do some hiking, so weight and durability are factors.

I have narrowed my choices to the following lenses:

Tamron AF18-200mm F3.5-6.3 XR DiII Macro
Tamron SP AF28-75mm F2.8 XR Di Macro
Sigma 18-50mm F2.8 EX DC Macro

Although all 3 lenses are affordable, I could get each of the 2 Tamrons for approximately the same cost while the Sigma would cost about $90- more. The Sigma is the second generation of the lens and seems to be an improvement over the earlier non macro version. Also, 2.8 is usually better than 3.5-6.3.

The 18-200 Tamron and the Sigma are designed for digital only while the 28-75mm Tamron can be used with a film camera also. I will not be using the lens I end up buying with a film camera, but I wonder if there is some advantage to using a lens designed exclusively for digital on a digital SLR.

I would appreciate any information or suggestions.

Thanks

06-14-2007, 11:16 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I would suggest a look at the Sigma 17-70 1:2.8-4.5. I have found this lens to be a truly excellent lens on the K10d.. Sharp as any, very high quality macro, all round top performer I have found.
Don't know if it is within your price range but is not "exceptionally" expensive.
Best of luck....
06-15-2007, 12:08 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Hi RJL