Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-24-2009, 02:36 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Promaster 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR EDO Aspherical Auto Focus Zoom Lens

Its on ebay for 229 buy it now price. Is this a great buy? If so, will this fit on my K-x out of the box?

Thank You

12-24-2009, 08:51 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Original Poster
And also, this seems to be a major problem for me as I am new to photography whatsoever. How would I know, in other words what would I look for in a different manufacturers lens to know that it fits the K-x? Obviously, Nikon and Canon APS-C sizes doesn't fit the K-x even though the K-x is an APS-C.

Any help would be appreciated ^^
12-24-2009, 01:57 PM   #3
Eds

Joodie- I have that lens in K mount on a istDS Pentax. Good basic lens giving quite acceptable IQ. Good lens for achieving maximum focal length range at an affordable price. I would say $229 is a fair price as long as it is in good condition. Eds
12-24-2009, 03:07 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thank you Eds for the reply. This might sound dumb but I am a noob. Other than this lens, how would I know if a particular manufacturers lens [other than pentax] with be compatible with my K-x?

12-24-2009, 07:53 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Each brand of camera has its own lens mount. The third-party lens companies (i.e. Tamron, Sigma, Tokina, etc.) make versions of their lenses in each different lens mount. So to get one that works on your K-x you need one that's made in Pentax mount.

The Promaster you've mentioned is actually a Tamron lens re-badged as a Promaster.

Also just a suggestion if you're looking for something to be an all-around lens with a high zoom factor then you may want to consider something that starts at 18mm. This will be a true wide angle on a K-x. Examples:

Tamron 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di-II LD Aspherical IF Macro / Promaster 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 Digital XR EDO Aspherical (these lenses are identical)