Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-28-2009, 09:58 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Dodged a Bullet

Just a quick note in case other people find themselves in a similar situation.

I was out photographing in the snowy woods and decided to change lenses.

Long story short, in the middle of changing I dropped my DA 16-45mm in the snow, like deep in the snow, rear element exposed and everything. I picked it up, brushed all the snow off of it I could and headed back to the car. I placed it in my cup holder, turned the head on high and closed every vent in the car except for the one nearest the lens. Every now and then I'd turn it so it cooked evenly =)

In the end, I see no water inside the lens and it takes great pictures still.

Word of caution though, take your time when changing lenses in dangerous environments! Also, more proof that I need at worst, WR lenses (i'll upgrade to DA* when i'm a good enough photographer to justify it)

12-28-2009, 10:09 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Interesting to think about, I never thought about water getting into the lens this way.

Not long after I got the DS I was snowshoeing and trying to switch to a SMC M 50mm 1.7 lens. I dropped it in the snow when a blast of wind came up and almost blew me over (and deposited a large amount of dust inside the camera). I didn't think about water getting into the lens itself - I just brushed off the snow and then mounted it on the camera. I probably shouldn't have been so cavalier about the lens (and I learned the important lesson to always face downwind when changing lenses!). There was still dust under the focusing screen when I sold the camera two years later).
12-28-2009, 10:16 PM   #3
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Good reminder.
Also applies on rocky surfaces, near the water or in the rain... WR means nothing once the lens has been dismounted!
12-29-2009, 01:45 AM   #4
Pentaxian