Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-21-2007, 08:57 AM   #1

lens advice for a novice

Hi,
I'm pretty new to photography and this is my first post on this forum - so please be gentle! I just got a new K100D with the kit lens - anyone could give me an opinion on the SMC Pentax-A 80-200mm F4.7-5.6 lens? (I could get it for about $60) or should I go for the new SMC PDA 50-200 f4-5.6 ED?
Thanks

06-21-2007, 09:16 AM   #2
and
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by radragan Quote
Hi,
I'm pretty new to photography and this is my first post on this forum - so please be gentle! I just got a new K100D with the kit lens - anyone could give me an opinion on the SMC Pentax-A 80-200mm F4.7-5.6 lens? (I could get it for about $60) or should I go for the new SMC PDA 50-200 f4-5.6 ED?
Thanks
welcome!

The DA zoom seems to get a lot of good remarks around the forums, especially considering the price, I have seen lots of good photos from it too, so I can vouch for that one especially at the price point, as for the A lens I dont know but there is a great site where u can check comments about old lenses>

Stan's Pentax Photography

And so here are the comments about the SMC Pentax-A 80-200mm F4.7-5.6 from that site:

Douglas J Stemke - I've grown to really like this lens. . . I've taken really lovely photos . . . blown up from a slide to 8X12 inches and it still retains great sharpness. . .

Ralf Engelmann - . . . a compact and affordable standard telezoom. . . . it's the most convincing offer in the Pentax telezoom range. . . does more than one would expect from the price and size. Optical quality is o.k., mechanical quality is pretty good and I like the internal zooming feature.