Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-11-2010, 06:38 AM   #1

FA 50/1.4 - Now?

Good morning,

I know the price increases on the FA50/1.4 have been debated to death on other threads, so I don't want to get into that, but I have been debating on the FA50/1.4 for a couple months now and as the price seems to be on the rise, is now the time to buy????

Yes, I know there are better lenses out there that I would like to have the ability ($$$) to go after, but as I have we have a baby on the way, indulging my hobby may not be the most responsible.... so all that said, would now be the time to go after the FA50, considering that it can still be found for sub-300 CAD, where as I see it creeping up on 400-450 USD in the states.... I am new to DSLR and Pentax, so I don't have alot of insight on how the pricing fluctuates.... are these prices the new norm (I know it is out of production) or will they come back down, or likewise, is it likely that another fast prime will come along that will be in the 200-300 range?

Also, does anyone know if the rebates that are offered are valid in Canada?

Thanks

P.S. I have a M-50/2.0 so I have a feel for the focal length, but MF is a bit of a pain, so that's why I am looking at the FA 1.4.

01-11-2010, 06:53 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I think it can still be had for ~$350 here in the states. But you're right, it does seem to be rising. The REAL time to buy is right when my roommate did, when it was $200. What a bargain for such a great lens...

If you feel that 50mm is a good focal length for you, go for it. I felt like I need a little more room so I opted for the 40mm f/2.8 and I've heard it focuses faster and is a bit sharper as well. I could certainly shoot indoors almost all of the time at f/2.8 and turn the ISO up a bit, so I don't feel like I'm losing much.

The main point is: I don't see the prices coming down much, sorry to say... If you know that's your lens, go ahead and snag it!