Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-15-2010, 10:17 AM   #1

Help with Vivitar Series 1 70-210mm f/2.8-4.0 (v3 by Komine)

Hi everybody,
First of all, I am rather new in photography, so please bear with me.
I took a hundred shots of an owl (I think it was an owl) close to the building I live in.
I set my K20d on a tripod (a $60 tripod), and tried different apertures.
I am not that happy with the pictures that came out.

I noticed several things:
1. I had to correct A LOT for exposure. In the photo below, for example, I had to set EV to -1.5. Is this normal with this lens?
2. When I changed the aperture from 11 to 8 to 5.6 to 2.8, I had to change the exposure compensation each time. As aperture got larger, I needed less EV.
3. I think my photos lack contrast. Do you agree? How can I improve on that?

Any pointers you may give are welcome.
Thanks.

Gaston.

For higher resolution click here.

Attached Images

Last edited by xephias; 01-15-2010 at 10:20 AM. Reason: changed title
01-15-2010, 12:55 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Looking at the bigger resolution version it seems that the tree bark is in focus and the bird is sligthly off.

I had a pretty beaten up but working copy of this lens and exposures were pretty much OK at the short end but at the long end it needed EV compensation. I think it has something to do with the fact that the body thinks the lens is at f2.8 when it actually is at f4 and it closes the aperture down too much. If you meter with the green button the exposures are spot on.
01-15-2010, 01:10 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Does your lens have the "A" setting? If not, you need to press the green button the set the exposure after each change of aperture. Also, it appears the photo was just focused on the wrong thing.

If your lens does have the "A" setting all you do is put the camera in Aperture priorty mode and set the aperture using the comand wheel.