Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-15-2010, 11:21 AM   #1

Tamron 70-300mm LD Di macro

Hi,

I am new and looking for a Zoom lenses for sport photography but am on a strict budget as I am a student I was wondering of the Tamron 70-300 LD Di macro was a good zoom lens and if it was compatible with the K20D. If it is are there any limitations or draw backs with it.

If it is not compatible can anyone suggest a not to expensive alternative?

Many Thanks

Matt

01-15-2010, 11:47 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by mattmiles Quote
Hi,

I am new and looking for a Zoom lenses for sport photography but am on a strict budget as I am a student I was wondering of the Tamron 70-300 LD Di macro was a good zoom lens and if it was compatible with the K20D. If it is are there any limitations or draw backs with it.

If it is not compatible can anyone suggest a not to expensive alternative?

Many Thanks

Matt
No compatibility issues. I've used mine on a k100d and now my k20d. I feel it needs to be stopped down and in good lighting conditions to provide sharp images.

Here's a related thread: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/31653-my-new-t...-di-macro.html

I've taken a lot of images with mine, as a student myself I've been very pleased with the compromise between sharpness and cost. Smugmug appears to be kaput right now, otherwise I'd share some examples.
01-15-2010, 11:48 AM   #3
Veteran Member

See the following thread for a recent discussion.

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/82106-tamron-70-300-macro.html