Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-19-2010, 12:00 AM   #1

fast prime lens

hi everyone

i'm new to pentax, having just bought a Kx with 18-55 and 55-300

i'm now looking on ebay and can see a whole bunch of cheap manual primes, i just dont know whats what.

obviously they're going to be manual focus, which i can put up with if i'm only paying 50-odd quid for the lens, but i think manual exposure is a little much.

can anyone recommend any particular lens, seeing as i dont know anything about them? focal length isnt that important (anything between 28-50 or so is fine), and i'm not to bothered whether it is f1.2 or 2, just something in that region. what i am bothered about is optical quality. are there any lenses that stand out for their sharpness? any help appreciated. thanks!

01-19-2010, 12:14 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Manual exposure is incredibly easy using Pentax cameras. You don't have to dial in the shutter speed through trial and error, like on some other cameras. All you have to do is point the camera at your subject, focus, press the "green button", and then press the shutter button to take the picture. It is incredibly easy and you should really give it a shot. Try out the Pentax SMC-K 55mm f/1.8 or the Pentax SMC-M 50mm f/1.7 to start your adventure, and you will be really really pleased. Each are available for about $55 or 35 quid on average. Especially with the K-x, "manual" exposure couldn't be easier.
01-19-2010, 12:32 AM   #3

Original Poster
thanks

i'm not sure i understand. do you mean that on manual lenses the camera will still adjust the aperture for you?

also, is there any advantage (besides prive, perhaps) of getting one of thos manual lenses, as opposed to AE? i mean is the "A" lens any worse optically than the "M" lens?

thanks
01-19-2010, 12:52 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums