Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-31-2010, 12:56 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Whats the best lens test ?

We just got a new Tamron 17-50 and Sigma 105 macro and was wondering what's the best way to test the lens to make sure they are right. Never have done anything like this before so figured there must be easier way, well to a degree anyways. Seems the Tammy isn't as sharp as I thought it should be. But it could be my K20D as I am still learning the fine tuning part of it. Any and all help would be much appreciated.

01-31-2010, 02:54 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Go out and take some pictures.
Look at the pictures.
If they look OK, odds are the equipment is also OK.
01-31-2010, 06:44 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
And if they aren't OK, ask yourself if you've done everything within the power of the photographer to improve the pictures. Posting images here for critique can help, but do realize that many if not most problems with pictures are related to technique, not equipment.
01-31-2010, 08:12 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
With older lenses, I like to check for exposure problems. Meter a scene with constant light, take an exposure, and using the same exposure value, choose different apertures. So if your first exposure is at f8 and 1/60 sec., you should get about the same brightness from f2.8 and 1/500, or f22 and 1/8. It's probably not necessary with new lenses but it only takes a few shots.

You can check for decentered elements by seeing if one side of a photo is in focus while the opposite side is not, when the subjects on each side are the same distance away. A brick wall or fence will be a good subject.

All lenses are going to be a bit soft and low contrast wide open, better stopped down. You could compare to the kit lens for the Tamron. If it's not better at equal settings, there might be an issue.