Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-08-2010, 07:25 AM   #1

Help me pick a 50mm 1.4 lens!!

Ok I have been looking at these 4 and keep switching which I like best
Pentax Lens Review and Specification Database - 50mm F1.4

Please list in order what your choices would be. I like the F a lot I just had trouble finding it.

By the way I am very new to photography so Im not great at knowing what is better and why.

02-08-2010, 07:34 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I'm sure others will better answer it. First here are some resolution test from http://www.takinami.com/yoshihiko/photo/lens_test/pentax_normal.html
02-08-2010, 08:23 AM   #3

Original Poster
Im a little noobish so I dont understand the chart too well I would assume that the higher number for the aperture is better?

Anyone else able to respond to my first post?
02-08-2010, 08:40 AM   #4

Do you need it to autofocus? What camera are you putting it on?

02-08-2010, 09:01 AM   #5
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by CrossStealth Quote
Ok I have been looking at these 4 and keep switching which I like best

Please list in order what your choices would be. I like the F a lot I just had trouble finding it.

By the way I am very new to photography so Im not great at knowing what is better and why.
Well, First of all, I doubt you are going to find an F50 f1.4 and if you do, it's going to be very expensive due to rarity. The FA50 f1.4 is still in production (or they have a massive nearly unlimited supply). If you want full auto everything, it's going to be your only choice. I've not done any tests to verify this but I've read that the A50 f1.4 is optically the same as the FA50. Might just be the same optical formula with an updated SMC coating. The K50 f1.4 you selected, again, rare bird and finding one is going to be tough. There is of course also the M50 f1.4 that in function, is identical to the K50 but easier to find and likely to be a lot less expensive.