Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-11-2010, 04:46 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Adapting a Vivitar zoom with a P/K for use w kx

I just got my new Kx and got a couple of nice old lenses but only the Macro works. The Vivitar Tele Zoom doesnt and I heard others have had the same situation but managed to adapt the P/K so that it worked on a DSLR.

I read some threads were they alked about taking the dremel and modify it the hard way but I dont really recognize were any change needs to be done or even how.

Took some images with an old compact of my new Sigma, the Macro that works and the Tele that doesnt work and was hoping for some pointers on how to, if possible, do this cause I really want to use this Tele 80-200.
The Tele is the tall one ( obvious I know but Im a true amateur.. )

I can see the "rim" on the tele is longer but no idea if that matters or not.

Last edited by aliasant; 02-19-2013 at 10:20 AM.
02-11-2010, 04:57 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Did find one thread that might be what I need ...

.. but would really love any pointers and additional tips.
Here's that other thread: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/19602-dremel-t...ification.html

Last edited by aliasant; 02-11-2010 at 04:58 AM. Reason: crappy spelling :)
02-11-2010, 05:30 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
On the vivitar there is this very long protection sleeve sticking out at the back, which is supposed to prevent damage to the aperture lever. You see, that it goes around the rear lens element for roughl y 1/3 of the whole circumspherence, way more than the short protection sleeve on the macro lens. This has to be removed, either brutally or (if that is possible) more gently by simply screwing it off. Often these sleeves are part of a plastic insert held by three or four tiny screws, which can be removed easily. But i don't know that particular lens.

Ben