Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-18-2010, 09:12 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Why no CHEAP wide angle lenses?

Alright I am a noob but hear me out. I bought a Pentax k-x kit with 18-55mm and 55-300mm zoom ~$650. Then I went on ebay and for ~$50 picked up a 50mm f1.4 prime lens. Now I feel like I have all the lenses I need (at least for many years until I am more pro and have more money to justify on fancier equipment), but I would love to have a wide angle lens in the 10mm to 12mm range. But old wide angle lenses are useless because of the crop factor.. and the cheapest wide angle lenses are about $500. Well I am only about $700 in on equipment so far including the body so that seems like a lot of money! Why would it be so difficult to build something cheaper? I mean the kit lens at 18mm will probably remain the widest thing in my kit, and that probably costs $50 for Pentax to produce. Obviously the kit lens is so mass produced. But seriously I want a sub $200 wide angle, it doesn't have to be top quality but not some zenitar cropped fish-eye. Should I just suck it up and work harder to earn more money because wide angle lenses inherently cost a lot to produce? Or is this some type of conspiracy?

02-18-2010, 09:23 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I'll let others with more expertise expound on this, but wide angle lenses for APS-C are shorter focal lengths and seem to be more challenging to design.
02-18-2010, 09:32 AM   #3
Pentaxian

More glass, more aberrations, tougher lenses to design. More raw materials needed, more time to manufacture, more risks to screw things up. Less demand, too, except for higher quality versions. All those things build up to draw the price up.
02-18-2010, 09:54 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
One problem is, lenses worth owning are almost always expensive, relative to the cost of the camera.