Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-19-2010, 06:43 AM   #1
Forum Member

I am new, so, What are the MUST HAVE lenes?

I just got my Pentax and I have 2 lenses so far. I have the 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL and also a Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 DG Macro...

So, I needs your help..I am new to the DSL and Lenses world, so I really don't get all the specks yet, like what does F3.5-5.6 mean? Please be kind..

Also, I hear a must have lenses is the 50 mm f 1.4??

I love taking indoor and outdoor Family shots. Wedding and Baby's I would like to do also..Thanks ..

02-19-2010, 06:51 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Wow, that's a really general and wide ranging request. I suggest going to the 'Beginner's Corner Q&A' and reading up all you can in there first. When you've done a bit of homework, you'll be in a better position to re-ask a more focused question.
02-19-2010, 07:13 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
As Alex mentioned your question is very general, but I try to give some advice from my point of view:

- Your 18-55mm kit lens is quite good lens for the outdoor family shots.
- It will be too slow for most indoor use, where you might be better off with FA50mm f1.5 or a wider lens like FA31mm f1.8 if your budget allows it.

- I think you should keep away for the moment from wedding and baby photography (if you're thinking of getting paid jobs) until you are comfortable with your equipment and knowledge.
02-19-2010, 07:20 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
The MUST HAVE lens is the one you will actually use…