Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-19-2010, 07:01 PM   #1

Which lens is better? (if either)

I'm still pretty new to dSLRs. I have a K110D that I got about a year ago. I'm ready/wanting to upgrade to a K-x. I have the K-x with the regular lens on backorder and am debating whether to get the deal with the regular kit lens and the 50-200mm from Beach off Ebay instead.

I don't have any experience with any lenses other than the K110D's kit lens and a Tamron 28-200mm XR that I bought off Ebay also last year. Is the Pentax kit 50-200mm any better than the Tamron I have? I know they're both probably nothing to write home about, but like I said, I'm pretty new at this.

Thanks!

02-19-2010, 08:59 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The way I would approach the question is, you only need one of them. So if you're comfortable with selling one lens, get the kit and decide for yourself.

I would expect that the Pentax lens has better image quality, but I'd also expect the differences aren't big enough to notice right away. Sometimes a non-Pentax will render colors in a very different way, but you would have noticed this by now. I would take a few shots of the same subject with each lens and look at them the way you'd look at a good photograph. Don't bother examining side-by-side pixels at 100%, though. If you don't see quality differences in regular viewing, observe handling, build quality and focus speed.

Choose the one you want to use the most. I can tell you that even when I have proven Lens A has sharper corners at f2.0, I'll still use Lens B because I like it better. Sometimes I can even ignore the popular opinion here that Lens A is really better.
02-19-2010, 09:23 PM   #3
hcc
Pentaxian