Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-22-2010, 03:18 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Flexible Lens?

Hey guys I am new here, and new to photography. I am a student currently... but I am very interested in getting a new lens later. I currently have a K1000 (wanted a K2 ;() with a 50mm f/2 I believe. I really like taking nature shots, so what do you guys recommend? there are still some stores around that sell K mount lenses. I like wide angle lenses... but probably need a zoom also. There might not be the ultimate lens though...

02-22-2010, 03:31 PM   #2
Veteran Member

"Nature shots" really is a wide field and can involve basically anything, from ultra wide angle lenses to extreme tele photo lenses. In order to give you sensible advice, you should be more specific, like what exactly do you want to photograph?
– landscapes
– big animals from short distances,
– small animals/birds from a distance
– insects
– flowers etc.

You should at least have an idea, when you use your 50mm lens, whether this does not give you a wide enough view, or whether you need more "magnification".

Ben
02-22-2010, 03:34 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Oh sorry, sorta new to this. What I meant was Landscapes! Uhh... I need a wider view more than magnification, but magnification would be nice too, but not as in need as a wide angle lens or something.
02-22-2010, 04:13 PM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by NecroticSoldier Quote
Oh sorry, sorta new to this. What I meant was Landscapes! Uhh... I need a wider view more than magnification, but magnification would be nice too, but not as in need as a wide angle lens or something.
kit lens 18-55 is pretty decent. you can set it on a tripod and take different exposures of the same scene or shoot in raw and work on a good post processing software.

Last edited by tokyoso; 02-22-2010 at 04:37 PM.
02-22-2010, 04:19 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster