Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-23-2010, 02:35 PM   #1

Choices - Lens or Body

Hello,

I am new to the forum, I think I signed up the last week or so.

A little bit about me which may help you folks help me come to a decision.

I have been around for a wee bit, Got my first SLR in 1962 from a pawn shop, no light meter, no battery, just a straight up, bare bones Petriflex. I learned shutter speeds and apertures and how they related off of the Kodak FX and PX film inserts (Yeh, I know, some of you are asking "What's FX & PX" & I hope no ones asking what film is).

I am an advanced amateur 'cause I don't shoot full time although I have shot a load of Weddings, Portraits, and Pets.

I have been out of Photography for about 10 years when I decided to get back in about 6 years ago. I want to go back part time again. Why I left had nothing to do with photography, just too many things going in the 90's that something had to go. Sadly it was photography.

My dilemma: In 2007 I bought the K10D with the 18-55 kit lens and the 50-200, 540 flash, and hand grip. I had some good stuff left over from the old years. The reason I went Pentax is I knew of their quality and reputation from way back. I have owned C & N's but chose to go Pentax and so far other then a few areas I am not disappointed.

I am no dummy I can't go semi pro with that glass so here are my choices that I need help with.

I can afford only the following:

Sigma 70-200 2.8 Or
Pentax 17-70 f4.

Now here is where it gets dicey:

The K7 body. If I buy the K7 then I can't get the glass for awhile. If I buy the Glass I can't afford the body for awhile.

The reason I am thinking of the body is for the pet end of it, shooting dogs doing agility meaning hi ISO, indoors and no flash, and quicker more accurate auto-focus.

With the 70-200 2.8 on the K10 I have a better chance with getting better focus but will most likely have to limit ISO to 640 or 800.